What is it? The 55th annual TV Week Logie Awards will acknowledge and reward programs in 24 categories, including the Gold Logie and the TV Week Logie Hall of Fame. Eleven of the awards are “most outstanding” peer-voted awards; the remainder are determined by popular vote.

Network snakes and ladders Nine tops the leaderboard with 37 nominations. The ABC has 32 nominations, including two for ABC2 and three for ABC3. Ten drew 28 nominations. Seven scored only 17 nominations, a significant fall from previous years. Foxtel has a total of eight nominations. SBS has five.

Who will win the Gold Logie?The nominees are Adam Hills, for the sixth time, Asher Keddie for the third time, Carrie Bickmore and Hamish Blake for the second time and debut entries Andy Lee and Steve Peacocke. On past form and sheer numbers Blake or Lee; the dark horse: Asher Keddie.

Hamish Blake vs Andy LeeTV’s night of nights will also be the stage for one of TV’s cruelest clashes, best mates and professional partners Blake and Lee are up against each other in the Gold Logie category and the most popular presenter Silver Logie category.

Who is Steve Peacocke?Well, you may ask. The Gold Logie category has a history of turning up relative unknowns against TV heavyweights, but Peacocke is more entitled than you may realise. He plays Darryl Braxton on Home & Away, a show which sits front and centre in TV Week’s heartland.

Pay TV vs free-to-airFoxtel has a total of eight nominations including seven Lifestyle Channel, Showcase, Sky News, Nick Junior and Crime & Investigation. Significantly it is up against Nine in the outstanding sports coverage category for coverage of the London 2012 Olympics.

The Best “Old” Talent AwardOne of peculiarities of the Logies is that you only need to be “new” to TV to qualify for the “best new talent” category. So, this year we have platinum album-selling artists David Campbell and Joel Madden and senior journalist Annabel Crabb in the category.

Annabel Crabb vs Joel MaddenYes, you read it right. ABC2’s amateur chef and one of the stars of Channel Nine’s The Voice are up against each other in the best new talent category. Crabb has one advantage: she’s also nominated for the Graham Kennedy Award for outstanding new talent.

Who will enter the TV Week Logie Hall of Fame?Past recipients have included Reg Grundy, Graham Kennedy, the journalist Laurie Oakes and the programs Play School and Four Corners. The recipient for 2013 has not yet been announced. Little known fact: the Hall of Fame Logie is also a Gold Logie.

The original release of this article first appeared on the website of Hangzhou Night Net.